Mies van der Rohe McCormick House Restoration Fund Donation
The cornerstone of Elmhurst Art Museum’s collection is the McCormick House (1952), a rare example by one of the greatest architects of the 20th century, Mies van der Rohe. The house has been studied by architects around the world yet it remains largely unknown by the local population and by art and architecture tourists. This is due mainly to the Museum’s use of the McCormick House for offices and storage from 1997 to 2015 and to the architectural alterations made in 1997 which obscure the iconic facade of the McCormick House.
In 2015 the Museum moved its offices out of the McCormick House and began the first phase of restoration with a new paint system inside and out, new windows and seals and treatment of the structural steel.
Now EAM stands ready to take the next big step, which will remove the 1997 architectural alterations from the historic facade so that the House can be fully seen and appreciated anew.
Landscaping and connecting pavilions which allow visitors to circumnavigate the McCormick House will also create space for an outdoor cafe, visitor seating, public art and better integration into the surrounding beauty of Wilder Park, becoming a destination for Elmhurst residents and Museum visitors to meet and gather with their friends and families.
The Museum’s visibility from the Metra station and its location between the Loop, the Farnsworth House and the Frank Lloyd Wright Trust in nearby Oak Park are the final ingredients to position Elmhurst’s own glass house, the McCormick House, as a welcome newcomer on the map of greater Chicagoland art and architecture destinations for tourists from around the world.
All proceeds towards the Mies van der Rohe McCormick House are tax deductible to the fullest extent of the law.